Key researchers

Dr Denis Claude Roy

Dr Denis Claude Roy, M.D., FRCPC

Chief Executive Officer of CellCAN and Scientific Director of the Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont Research Centre, Dr Roy is a renowned researcher in the field of haematopoietic stem cell therapy, with publications in Nature Medicine, Cell, Cancer Cell, NEJM, J Clin Investigation and Blood. At the Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont Research Centre, he has initiated and chaired more than 15 phase I-II clinical trials involving ex vivo manipulation of haematopoietic stem cells for transplantation. He has also participated in more than 60 clinical research protocols.

Dr Armand Keating, M.D., FRCPC

Dr Keating, a key founding member of CellCAN, is Chair of CellCAN Steering Committee as well as Director of the Cell Therapy Program at UHN. Dr Keating is a former President of the American Society of Hematology and established the largest stem cell transplant program in Canada.

Dr François Auger

Dr François A. Auger, M.D., FRCPC

Dr Auger has been directing the Centre de recherche en organogénèse expérimentale de l'Université Laval / LOEX (LOEX) since its inception in 1985. He also is the director of the clean rooms at the Centre multidisciplinaire de développement du génie tissulaire (CMDGT) since its inception in 2010.

Dre Lucie Germain

Dr Lucie Germain, PhD

Dr Germain is the Scientific Director of the LOEX and the clean rooms of the CMDGT. She is currently Associate Dean for research and graduate studies at the Faculty of medicine at Laval University. She is a researcher in the field of tissue engineering and cell strains since 1991 and holder of the Stem cells and tissue engineering Senior Canada Research Chair. She was directly involved in the successful development of the technique to generate skin substitutes and corneal replacement.

Dr Bartha Knoppers

Dr Bartha M. Knoppers, PhD

Dr Knoppers is director of the Centre of Genomics and Policy (CGP) at the Faculty of Medicine, Department of Human Genetics, McGill University in Montréal. She is also the Chair of the International Stem Cell Forum’s Ethics Working Party (ISCF-EWP) and is also involved on two Public Core Grants by the Stem Cell Network of Canada (SCN) on international stem cell research, banking and clinical translation.

Dr Greg Korbutt

Dr Greg Korbutt, PhD

Dr Korbutt is a Professor in the Department of Surgery at the University of Alberta, Canada. He has been actively involved in islet transplant research for the past 25 years. Dr Korbutt is the project leader of CFI award ($26 million) to build the GMP Cell and Tissue Innovation Research Centre (ACTM) in Alberta.

Dr James Piret

Dr James Piret, Sc.D., FCIC

Dr Piret is a Professor and the Associate Head of the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering at the University of British Columbia. He was the founding Stem Cell Bioengineering Theme Leader of the Stem Cell Network NCE.

Dr Duncan Stewart

Dr Duncan Stewart, M.D.

Dr Stewart is a pioneering Canadian cardiovascular researcher, recognized for his many important discoveries in blood vessel biology as well as his dedication to translating these discoveries into benefits for patients and society. After beginning his career in academic cardiology at McGill University and Toronto, he is currently the CEO of the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute (OHRI). 

Dr Sowmya Viswanathan

Dr Sowmya Viswanathan, PhD

Dr Viswanathan is a key founding member of CellCAN, team leader for the manufacturing committee of CellCAN, Associate Director of the Cell Therapy Program at UHN. She is a recognized national and international expert on cell therapy manufacturing issues and regulatory compliance.


Several other world class researchers are benefiting from CellCAN cell therapy grafts and tissues to further their research.


Connect with a network of Canadian researchers, clinicians, regulatory experts and HQP from coast to coast, through our platforms, workshops and events.